Trip to Uttarakhand

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, On the banks of river Ganga

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, On the banks of river Ganga

The following post will describe the experience I had while travelling to Uttarakhand in the year 2012. I was planning for this trip for a while and decided to undergo it in the month of July and August. Initially I was planning only to go to Haridwar, Rishikesh and Valley of flower but as I started to gather more information my itinerary swelled and finally it covered Kedarnath and Badrinath too (do dham yatra).

Here is what I planned to do:
28th July 2012 : Departure by Garib Rath to Delhi
29th : Arrival in Haridwar, watch Ganga Aarti in evening, Overnight stay.
30th : Travel as close to Gaurikund(weather depending), Overnight stay
31st : Visit Kedarnath. 14km + 14km trek in a day
1st Aug : Visit Chopta/Ukimath, Overnight stay
2nd : Visit Tunganath
3rd : Deoriya Tal
4th : Joshimath
5th : Visit Auli
6th : Ghagaria
7th : Valley of Flower
8th : Hemkund
9th : Badrinath
10th : Mana
11th : Rishikesh, Haridwar
12th : Morning Train to Delhi
13th : Arrival to Mumbai morning by Garab Rath

As I was visiting in the months of monsoon, I was aware that things will no go as per plan and will have to change the itinerary as per weather and personal requirement.
I was able to cover most of the things, but I did miss a few and added a few. I missed Tunganath, Deoriya Tal, Auli, and Hemkund, but added Gopeshwar, Neelkhanth Mahadev, Derhadun, and Mussouri.

The total cost of the trip turned out to be Rs 14000 for a single person trip which includes tickets from Mumbai to Rishikesh by train for a 16 day trip.

© Pilankar

Part 2

One thought on “Trip to Uttarakhand

Leave a Reply

