Trip to Uttarakhand – Rishikesh

 

Day 12: 8th Aug 2012 : So after 9 days in the mountains, I was back on the plains again, no more worries about landslides. It was quite refreshing to be in the mountains though. I was not feeling well, as I have’nt slept the whole night, my head was spinning. I booked a hotel room near the bus-stop in Rishikesh, cost me Rs 250 per night. It was decent room, probably the best of the tour so far. I had my lunch and then decided to take a break today and continue my adventure from next day onwards. The rest of the day was spent sleeping and eating.

The travel cost Rs 250 from Gopeshwar to Rishikesh, the room rent was Rs 250  and the food cost for the day was Rs 200.

Trayambakeshwar Temple from Lakshman Jhula

Trayambakeshwar Temple from Lakshman Jhula

Lakshama Jula Ghat

Lakshama Jula Ghat

Day 13: 9th Aug 2012 : I woke up around 7.00 am, was feeling refreshed after sleeping for long time. Had my br

eakfast, asked about the places of interest to the hotel staff, decided to start

my journey from Lakshaman Jhula. I decided to take a shared auto to reach Lakshman Jhula. So far I havent stepped in the holy water of river Ganges. Today, I decided to take bath in it near Lakshman Jhula on Lakshman Jhula ghat. The river current was strong and it was muddy being rainy season. The water was cold. So after taking bath in the Ganges I had washed my sins. With my bathing though I decided to visit the nearest 13 stories temple (Trayambakeshwar Temple). This place has lot of idols of various Hindu gods and goddesses. One will also find lot of shops selling various ring, bracelets, auspicious stuff, etc inside this building. The views  from the top is worth the visit in itself.

Vithal Mandir, Rishikesh

Vithal Mandir, Rishikesh

I started walking towards Ram Jhula, in between I had some snacks. I also visited a Kerala Ayurvedic Clinic for some personal reason. Rishikesh have a lot of Ayurvedic medicine and yoga centre along with spa center. It is known as the yoga capital of the world. I decided to visit the Vithal temple, which was visited by my grandmother when it was opened to public. It was nostalgic to visit that place. Continuing ahead towards Ram Jhula, I decided to visit the Triveni ghat, not much people where there in the afternoon. It is the place where every evening Ganga Aarti is performed at 7:00 pm.

In the mean time my shoes where giving me problem, visited a cobbler, had them fixed, also had lunch, went back to hotel and took break for couple of hours.

Triveni Ghat in afternoon

Triveni Ghat in afternoon

My evening program was to visit Triveni ghat for the aarti spectical. I reached the ghat at 5.15 pm, a bit too early, but was able

Ganga Aarti at trivani ghat at 7.00 pm daily

Ganga Aarti at trivani ghat at 7.00 pm daily

to enjoy the sunset from the banks of Ganges. Also, the I was able to explore the ghat which seems very long. As the evening progressed the ghat was getting crowded, lot of ladies where performing the puja and lighting diyas in the water. The Maha Aarti started at 7.00 pm, it was just like any other aarti. There where 10-12 people(priest possibly) who were holding lamps and praying to mother Ganga. It was a good site to watch. After the aarti was over, I left the ghat, had dinner and went back to my room.

The room rent was Rs 250  and the food cost for the day was Rs 160.
©Pilankar

Previous                                      Home                                          Next

Leave a Reply

