Trip to Uttarakhand – Haridwar

Evening at Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

Evening at Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

I reached Haridwar by 2.30 pm, booked a room near the station, cost me Rs 300, had a TV in it. I had lassi, lunch in Haridwar. I decided to goto Hari Ki Pauri, the place where drops of amrut where spilled from celestial bird, Garuda after samudramanthan. Having bath at this spot is considered auspicious. From my hotel I decided to take the rickshaw, the tricycle one, one that is pedal

Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

by human, I never had ridden that before. It was quite a site to see Haridwar like that. Hari Ki Pauri is just 10 mins ride on tricycle.
Once at the ghat, I went to one of the priest (randomly) for the Ganga puja, he told me to take bath first in the holy Ganga river and then I had Ganga puja performed under his guidance. After that I decided to roam about the ghat and took some snaps. Then I decided to visit the Mansa Devi Mandir, the mandir is located on a hill, one can climb or use a ropeway to reach the mandir, I decided to climb the steps. In fact I climbed them in one go, there where lot of them, I didn’t count, maybe 1000. From the top one can have ariel view of Haridwar and the river Ganga. I had my darshan of Mansa devi, there are a lot of women devotees at this particular temple. After having darshan, I leisurely came down. It was quite windy and cloudy while I was

Mansa Devi Temple, Haridwar

Mansa Devi Temple, Haridwar

descending, luckily it didn’t rain. By this time, evening had started to descend, I decided to go back to Hari Ki Pauri and watch the Ganga Aarti. There where still hour and half left for the aarti to start, in the meantime, I was watching other people taking bath in holy Ganga river. The ghat was getting crowded, in fact there was no place to sit, people where sitting at various vantage points. The aarti started at 7.00 pm, it was a bit different from the one at Rishikesh’s Triveni ghat. Here all the priest where wearing a white clothes, and also they where very close to each other.
After the aarti was over, I decided to walk to my room, it was a couple of km away. I was satisfied that my trip was going to end. Before reaching hotel I had some snacks. I reached the hotel sometime at 8.00 pm, watched some TV and was fast asleep.

The travel cost Rs 40 from Rishikesh to haridwar, the room rent was Rs 300  and the food cost for the day was Rs 300. The puja cost Rs 450 in Haridwar.

Ganga Aarti at Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

Ganga Aarti at Hari Ki Pauri, Haridwar

© Pilankar

Previous                                      Home                                          Next

Leave a Reply

