Makar Sankranti – A Hindu festival of Kite flying

Til Gul, Maharashtrian Food

Til Gul, Maharashtrian Food

Today was Makar Sankranti, the day generally falls on 14th of January every year, it is celebrated all over India and Hindus all over the northern hemisphere celebrate the day when the sun begins its northward movement. In my home state Maharashtra it is celebrated by distributing a special type of ladoo (til-gul) and men fly kites.

Kite

Kite

I have been flying kites right from my childhood long before the start of kite flying season. It used to be my one of my favourite pastime. I always felt a sense of satisfaction while flying kite alone. The funny thing is I have never bought kites, only once in my life I remember I bought one. The kites where always caught first and then flown by me, there was much fun in catching too.

Kite Flying in Mumbai

Kite Flying in Mumbai

Today I celebrated the Kite festival after long time, today also I didn’t bring any kites, I went to the terrace, there was no one there, there were some kites which where lying around, used them and had lot of competition with fellow kite flyers. All in all it was a nostalgic moment for me, I was able to fly more than half-dozen kites in couple of hours, I manage to win couple of competitions and lost the rest. The whole

Kite Store in Mumbai

Kite Store in Mumbai

surrounding was in festive mood, with communities from other colonies blaring loud music, dancing and flying kites to the same music. The music starts just before noon and goes on till the sunset at most places. In the night kite lovers will attach lantern also know as kandil and fly the kite. There will be multiple lantern on the single kite sting.

All in all I always look forward to this day. Happy Makar Sankranti.

Leave a Reply

